Happy Hanukkah Card

I am catching up on some blog posts.  This one originally appeared on the Cut at Home blog on November 26, 2013.

hanukkah card

Hanukkah begins this week, and so I made a Happy Hanukkah card.    This card features a stamp set by Lawn Fawn called “Happy Hanukkah”.

I used my Spellbinders A2 Matting Basics dies to cut the blue and white layers.  These dies make card layering so easy, and I love how the stacked layers look.   I wrapped a layer of ribbon around the left side of the top blue layer only.

I wanted my stamped images to be bold, and to achieve this look I decided to emboss them.  Rather than using a colored embossing powder, I used a colored ink and then applied clear, super-fine detail embossing powder.  This embossing powder is wonderful!  The image (or lettering) stays intact, and I am always happy with the level of detail that I can achieve with it.  For this technique to work, it’s important to use an ink that won’t dry too quickly.  It is also important to be prepared to cover the stamped image with embossing powder immediately after stamping (while also making sure that the stamp and the ink pad don’t get covered with the powder — that just makes a mess!).  Once the stamped images are covered with the embossing powder, they can be set aside for a few minutes before applying the heat.  I always like to stamp my images first and then heat emboss them all at the same time.  Before applying the heat to any of the images I also take a little time to let the heat tool warm up.  This minimizes the chance that the embossing powder will blow off before melting.

Once the images are stamped and embossed, then it is just a matter of trimming them to an appropriate size for the card.  The sentiment is 3” x ¾”; the menorah is 2” x 2-3/8”.  I trimmed the stars close to the embossed line, and layered two together using a low dimensional adhesive.  I used Scor-Tape by Scor-Pal to attach the various pieces to the card.

Supply List:

Lawn Fawn stamp set – “Happy Hanukkah”

Versa Magic chalk ink – night sky

Ranger super fine detail clear embossing powder

Heat gun

Spellbinders A2 Matting Basics sets

Die Cutting machine – I used my Grand Calibur

White and blue cardstock – I used Bazzill Coconut Swirl (white) and blue metallic by the Paper Cut

Ribbon – I used a sheer ribbon with gold/silver stripes by May Arts

Adhesives – Scor-Tape ; low dimensional adhesive

Thanks and Happy Scrappin’!

Cheryl

2 thoughts on “Happy Hanukkah Card

  1. I always feel I should make Hanukkah cards for my shows, but as I am not Jewish I don’t want to ‘fail’ at making them since I am not all that familiar with the customs and traditions. This quite fetching! Simple with a bit of elegance, very nice!! May just have to cardlift this one 😉

Leave a Reply

